POP UP AND CULTURE…

Even if until here, I only have been looking for evolving branding advertisement thanks to architecture, I realise that some artists did ever use some kind of Pop up stores to promote themselves, or at least, to defend and impose their point of view, maybe to afford some people who were maybe not interested in Art to know about them… So, in a sense, it is a way to make art come to meet its potential public.

Here is it the case of Keith Haring explaining about his pop shop:

“Here’s the philosophy behind the Pop Shop: I wanted to continue the same sort of communication as with the subway drawings. I wanted to attract the same wide range of people and I wanted it to be a place where, yes, not only collectors could come, but also kids from the Bronx…this was still an art statement.”

 

 

 

So all those reflections about advertising, makes me wondering about the communication about the museums, galleries, exhibitions, artistic events, fairs, biennials… Actually, how is really announced a new exhibition?

As far as I know, mainly through fliers, articles in magazines, websites, newsletter… Anyway, mainly through a visual communication, so maybe could I find ways to promote such events through volumetric advertisement?

I remember when I went to visit the Contemporary art Biennale of Venice in 2007, I was really impressed by the volumetric signage in the streets:

I found it really convenient, because lots of people may don’t feel concern about contemporary art, but in having any program, maps and indication directly in the street, they were maybe curious and became interested in visiting some?

So, maybe should I try to get some information about culture advertisement and about how does exhibition be organised?

 

Leave a comment